Books · Reviews

Review: Geekerella

About the Book

When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. Elle’s been scraping together tips from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck behind her stepmother’s back, and winning this contest could be her ticket out once and for all – not to mention a fangirl’s dream come true.

Teen actor Darien Freeman is less than thrilled about this year’s ExcelsiCon. He used to live for conventions, but now they’re nothing but jaw-aching photo sessions and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Federation Prince Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the diehard Starfield fandom has already dismissed him as just another heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, closet nerd Darien feels more and more like a fake – until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

My Thoughts

Danielle is officially one of my favourite characters! Her geekiness and true passion for Starfield was very familiar to me as my fangirling tendencies are just as mad as hers. I loved her as a main character and her initial dislike towards Darien (although cliché) made both her and the inevitable romance more likable.

Speaking of Darien, he was also a great character. The fact that he was also a fan of Starfield showed that his character was definitely more than meets the eye. I loved the addition of his backstory which added a lot more depth to his character.

Another of my favourite characters in the book was Lonny, Darien’s bodyguard (and that’s not just because of the Captain America references). He was a really funny character who alongside Sage, Danielle’s co-worker, quickly became one of my favourites to read about.

As you can probably guess from the title of the book, Geekerella was a Cinderella retelling. I really enjoyed the links to the original story and think they definitely improved the plot.

I absolutely loved the idea of Starfield in all its nerdy glory (am I the only one wishing this was an actual thing?). I think there should definitely be a petition for Ashley Poston to write another book about this world (I will make this happen!).

I also loved the links to different nerd culture which are featured throughout the book and made it my personal mission to spot all of the different references Poston used.

The only addition that I would add to this story is more information on Starfield as a whole. I know we did get a lot throughout the book, but if possible I would still enjoy more. Also I would love if there was a whole encyclopaedia on the world of Starfield!

Overall

As a whole, this is for sure one of my favourite books I’ve read this year. It definitely deserves 5 Stars. The nerdiness spoke to me on a high level and the book showed the true power of fandom!

Kate x

Leave a Reply

